When you first settled your divorce, you may have been perfectly happy with the divorce decree. Life can change, though, and your circumstances right along with it, causing your official divorce decree to become unworkable or impractical for one or
Driving While Impaired (DWI)
Duluth DWI Defense Lawyer | Northern Minnesota DWI Defense Attorney
DWI is aggressively prosecuted in Minnesota because driving among other motorists while intoxicated is classified as a serious offense. If you or a loved one has been charged with DWI, it is important to seek the representation of an experienced and skilled Duluth DWI defense lawyer. With the right representation in your corner, you can secure a better outcome than you would otherwise.
At LaCourse, Poole & Envall, P.A., you can count on receiving the criminal defense that you need in your DWI case. The goal is to receive the best possible outcome. The best outcome may be a reduction in charges or dismissal. We are also very skilled at arguing cases in court when they go to trial.
Fighting DWI Consequences In Duluth, MN
When a person is pulled over for DWI, the police must have a reasonable suspicion for the traffic stop. Once pulled over, the officer may perform a field sobriety test, as well as urine, blood, or breath test at the station. If you refuse to submit to testing, you could have your license taken away because of the Implied Consent Law. Implied Consent says that you give authorization for such tests when you acquire your driver’s license.
From there, you are charged with any of the following:
- First-Degree DWI – The penalty is up to $14,000 in fines and 7 years in prison
- Second-Degree DWI – Up to $3,000 in fines and 1 year in prison
- Third-Degree DWI – Up to $3,000 in fines and 1 year in jail
- Fourth-Degree DWI – Up to $1,000 in fines and 90 days in jail
There is also the cost to get your license back if it is canceled, revoked, or suspended.
If there are aggravating factors present, the initial charge can be upgraded. For instance, having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .20 or greater, having a minor in the vehicle, or having other DWI offenses within the past 10 years can enhance the charge.
Guidance Through The DWI & DUI Process
When charged, you can count on your Northern Minnesota DWI defense attorney to stand by you every step of the way. You can make this call during the traffic stop. You have the right to call your attorney. You are also allowed one telephone call after the arrest. This call can be to your attorney so arrangements can be made for your release. Once you are released, every aspect of your case is reviewed to find the best strategy for reducing the charges or having them dismissed.
Contact A Duluth DWI Defense Lawyer
DWI is a serious crime in Minnesota and, perhaps, the most common. It is aggressively prosecuted because of the number of people on the road that are put at risk when a person drives drunk on Minnesota’s roadways. If you or a loved one has been charged with DWI, it is important to seek the representation of an experienced and committed criminal attorney as soon as possible.